Bee County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

Meeting Minutes

August 9, 2023

Emergency Operations Center, 111 S. St. Mary's St; Suite 201, Beeville, Texas 78102

Members Present: (20)

David Cave – LEPC Chair Kevin Buesing – Halliburton	Brann Quintana – Halliburton	Robby Guerrero – B County	Ty Huser – Skidmore VFD Tai Toelken-Skidmore VFD
Henry Munoz – City Beeville	Julie Willow – LEPC Sec.	Mike Willow - TDEM	Joel Saenz – Pawnee VFD
Bill Buris – Beeville FD	Gilbert Perez – Christus Hosp.	Victor Gomez – Exclusive Care	Melvin Davis-Startex
Brad Read-ConocoPhillips Joanne Salge – NC LEPC	Michelle Myers – City Beeville Jesse Torres – Texas 811	Donnie Venglar – Field Corp	Logan Streadl – TAHC

- (1) Call Meeting to order: David Cave called the meeting to order at 10:00 am & attendee introductions.
- (2) Pledge of Allegiance: By membership
- (3) Acceptance of minutes: Motion to approve by Ty Huser and was seconded by Victor Gomez minutes approved
- (4) Old Business/New Business:
 - a. <u>Old business</u>: Discussed importance of members joining subcommittees and chairs scheduling meetings.
 - b. <u>New business</u>: Reviewed & opened up discussion on updates to Bylaws. Motion to approve Julie Willow & seconded by Michelle Myers. Updates to LEPC Bylaws were approved.
- (5) Upcoming Training in the Community/Conferences: <u>www.coastalbendcan.org</u> <u>www.preparingtexas.org</u>
 - a. Hot Zone Hazmat conference October 19-22, 2023 in Houston. VFDs can apply for CBRAC \$200 scholarships for tuition contact RJ Thomas for more info.
- (6) Standing Subcommittee Reports:
 - a. <u>Finance</u> Chair: Richard Cantu Jr.; David Cave reviewed the financial report and a total of \$11,033.54 in LEPC bank account. Motion by Victor Gomez and second was made by Tai Toelken – approved the financial report. Tai Toelken announced Skidmore VFD had purchased an AED and once the paperwork was finalized, they would turn in receipts for reimbursement from financial approval earlier this year.
 - b. Risk Awareness, Communications & Planning Chair: Ryan Garza; No Update
 - c. Emergency Response and Resource Development Chair: Rob Reyes; No update
 - d. <u>Pipeline Damage Prevention</u> *Chair: Ty Huser;* Ty announced he is looking for members for the subcommittee pipeline attendees
- (7) Presentation: Jesse Torres 811 Texas Damage Prevention Manager

(8) Public Comment/Announcements: Comments are limited to five (5) minutes per person/group. Be advised the Texas Open Meetings Act prohibits the committee from responding and discussing your comments at length and comments need to be factual in nature.

- a. Gilbert Perez announced that Beeville Christus Hospital was now approved as a Type 4 Trauma Center.
- b. RA Hall Active Threat Exercise was brought up as highly attended by emergency responders and went well.
- (9) Next Meeting Date: September 13, 2023 (2nd Wednesday of the month) 10:00am start time at EMC office conf. room.
- (10) Motion to Adjourn: ?? made motion and ?? seconded. Meeting adjourned at 11:00 am.

David Cave – Bee County LEPC Chairperson